Laytown & Bettystown defeated a young Killarney side 4-1 to win their second Irish Senior Cup title sponsored by AIG at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa and Country Club in Co Carlow.

Alison Taylor continued her fine run of form which saw her undefeated over the weekend after yet another victory this time over Caitriona Griffin on fourteenth. Laytown & Bettystown then raced into a two match advantage when Rachel Taylor closed out Valerie Clancy on the sixteenth green. The fixture was finally decided when in the top match, seasoned international Carol Wickham birdied the twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth on her way to defeating current girls International Mairead Martin on the home green.

Laytown & Bettystown now celebrate their second title having previously won in 1988 while Killarney’s young debutantes can look forward to many appearances at this level over the next number of years.


Killarney 1 Laytown & Bettystown 4
Mairead Martin lost to Carol Wickham 1up
Caitriona Griffin lost to Alison Taylor 5/4
Valerie Clancy lost to Rachel Taylor 3/2
Claire Keating halved with Barbara Cooney
Nicola Rainsford halved with Ellie Metcalfe

Pictured: 2014 Champions: Claire Scanlon (AIG Sponsor), Aileen Regan (Team Captain L&B), Milli Wade (Lady Captain L&B), Mary McKenna (ILGU President), Eilis Hanley (Lady Captain Mount Wolseley) and Hazel Lee (Lady President L&B) pictured with the 2014 winning Laytown & Bettystown team

newsletter icon

Sign-up to receive our
Women & Golf newsletter!


Ping Womens Fourball 2020

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.