Rory McIlroy pushed through in the final round of the PGA Championship to win his second straight major championship and remind his competitors that he’s still in control of his remarkable play.

The 25-year-old Irishman is the first player to win three straight PGA Tour starts since Tiger Woods in 2007-2008. His victory marks the second time he’s won the Wanamaker trophy in three years.

The number one player in the world gutted it out for the entire round. The game changer was on the 10th hole. Sitting three shots back from Ricky Fowler and Henrik Stenson and two shots from Phil Mickelson, McIlroy hit his 3-wood on the par 5 to within seven feet of the hole and sank the putt for eagle.

He built a two-stroke lead with a 10-foot birdie putt at the 17th and sealed his win with a par on the 18th hole, one stroke ahead of Mickelson.

“I’ve never won three times in a row. And I’ve never won back-to-back majors,” said McIlroy. “It’s a whole new experience for me doing what I’ve done this summer, so I’m trying to let it all sink in.”

Image: Getty Images



newsletter icon

Sign-up to receive our
Women & Golf newsletter!


We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.