rhein-gibson-putter-cover-caddie

 

Web.com Tour player Rhein Gibson took to Twitter last night to apologise after throwing his putter cover at his caddie after a final hole blunder.

Gibson moved down from 3rd to 2nd after his caddie, Brandon Davis, inadvertently picked up Gibson's ball from a hazard at the Bahamas Great Abaco Classic, resulting in an additional shot penalty. Gibson's was liable to a one-shot penalty under rule Rule 18-2 for picking up a ball while it was still in play.

 

 

In the aftermath of the incident, Gibson proceeded to throw his putter cover at his looper before firing him on the spot.

He has since taken to Twitter to apologise for the incident: 

 

Davis was quick to respond, claiming that he had in fact, done nothing wrong.

 


newsletter icon

Sign-up to receive our
FREE
Women & Golf newsletter!

CLICK HERE

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.