Munross Trophy Montrose Links 2018

Joanne Free, 20-year-old Gullane Golf Club member, won the 36-hole Munross Trophy over the Montrose Links on Sunday with an impressive score of seven-under-par, made up of rounds of five-under-par 68 and two-under 71.

Free's excellent performance saw her secure the Munross Trophy just one shot ahead of Tara Mactaggart (Minto), who shot rounds of 69 and 71. Mactaggart started the final round just behind the eventual winner but was unable to close the gap over the last 18 holes.

Having recently completed her freshman year at the University of Minnesota, Free had a bogey-free first round, highlighted by birdies at the 6th, 13th, 14th, 15th, and 17th holes, and her form continued early in the second round when she carded an impressive eagle 3 at the 14th.

Mactaggart, who had six birdies and two bogeys in her opening round, made a 3 at the 6th hole for eagle in her second round, but a bogey at the 17th was the shot that eventually separated the pair at the finish.

Former Scottish Women's Champion, Gabrielle Macdonald, (Craigielaw) finished third on a total score of 144 with a consistent score of 72 in each round, whilst last year's winner, Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm) finished sixth on 146 with two rounds of 73.

After her recent spell of succes, Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey) returned scores of 79 and 77 for a 10-over-par total of 156. The recent winner of the Welsh and the Irish Women's Open Amateur Stroke-Play titles, McCook ran into a patch of bad holes with a triple bogey 7 shortly followed by a quadruple bogey 8 in her first round, and a double bogey 6 in her final 18 holes.

Final Scores 

Par 146 (2x73) SSS 73 CSS 73

139 J Free (Gullane) 68 71
140 T Mactaggart (Minto) 69 71
144 G Macdonald (Craigielaw) 72 72
145 L Duncan (West Kilbride) 71 74, C Goadby (St Regulus Ladies) 74 72
146 E Briggs (Kilmacolm) 73 73
149 J Saxton (Muckhart) 72 77
150 K Brodie (Strathmore) 75 75, K Beveridge (Aboyne) 73 77
151 C Griffiths (Aboyne) 74 77, J Mackintosh (Hazlehead) 73 78
154 R Foster (Prestwick St Nicholas) 75 79
156 H McCook (Grantown on Spey) 79 77
158 E Henderson (Loretto School) 78 80, M Robb (Peterculter) 79 79, L McClymont (Milngavie) 78 80.
159 E Kennedy (Paisley) 78 81, E Docherty (Moray) 77 82
161 J M Grubb (Montrose Mercantile) 77 84
162 H Darling (Broomieknowe) 83 79
164 J Brown (Monifieth) 88 76, I Rosk (Nairn Dunbar) 81 83
165 A McKay (Crail GS) 84 81, K K Brown (Strathaven) 89 76.
167 M Gardner (Linlithgow) 82 80
168 F Millar (Carnoustie Caledonia) 82 86
169 R Mathieson (Hazlehead) 82 87
175 R Fowlie (Edzell) 92 83
181 S Stichbury (Gullane) 86 95
203 J Whiteford (Melrose) 102 101

Aileen Greenfield Wins Her First England Title READ MORE

newsletter icon

Sign-up to receive our
Women & Golf newsletter!


We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.